Friday, July 31, 2009

Victims Surcharge for Pot Possession?

If you don't know what a Victim Surcharge is, according to the Wyoming Division of Victim Services:

Surcharge is an assessment imposed on the offender in addition to any fines fees, or other penalties prescribed by law. As of July 1, 2008, the surcharge on first time offenses range from $150.00 to not less than $350.00. For second and subsequent offenses the surcharge ranges from $200 to not less than $400. The court imposes the surcharge during sentencing. The assessment is then deposit (sic) in the State of Wyoming’s surcharge revenue fund. The surcharge fund is then used to pay the expenses of the Crime Victims’ Compensation Program.

Yesterday, two people were each sentenced in Wyoming Circuit Court to, among other things, $350 in Victim Surcharges for pleading guilty to possessing small amounts of pot.


Who, exactly, is the victim in this case? These two guys were at home minding their own business when they were arrested. The only victims I can see in this case are them. And they're victims of extortion. And all of my fellow citizens of Wyoming who support these laws, or who refuse to speak out against them, are guilty of that extortion.

You cannot be in the middle on this issue. You cannot claim that you're not involved. As a citizen and a voter, you are either in favor of turning people into criminals for using harmless drugs, or you are not.

No comments:

Post a Comment